The Hawk is Hungry: An Annotated Anthology of D'Arcy McNickle’s Short Fiction

In the late 1920s and early 1930s D'Arcy McNickle wrote a number of short stories most of which were not published at the time. This collection contains eleven of these unpublished short stories, and in addition, two that have been published previously. D'Arcy McNickle's short fiction deals basically with three topics, thereby providing a convenient way of grouping the short stories into three sections: life on Indian reservations, life in rural Montana, and life in the big cities. The Introduction contains a short analysis of one short story for each section. .Each of the three sections is furthermore accompanied by a critical discussion of the short stories' versions and of the editorial decisions. The Introduction to the collection is mainly biographical and serves to establish the short fiction's place in D'Arcy McNickle's literary career.


Brigit Hans


Larry Evers





Arizona State Museum: 

M9791 H253h


ATT 1327834
College of Social and Behavioral Sciences